Library Commission

The San Francisco Public Library Commission is a seven-member commission appointed by the Mayor of San Francisco. The Commission sets policy and is responsible for the library budget for the San Francisco Public Library system. Commissioners serve a four-year term.

Current Commissioners

John LeeJohn Lee, Commissioner
2/2013 - 1/15/14
John Lee was appointed to the Library Commission by Mayor Edwin Lee in February 2013. He has worked in information technology for the past two decades and currently serves as an IT executive with the YMCA of San Francisco. Lee serves on the board of the Evergreen Education Foundation, which brings education opportunities to rural areas of China. He is active in MentorNet, which mentors university students. He is also a CPR and first aid instructor for the Red Cross and certified volunteer with San Francisco Neighborhood Emergency Response Team (SF NERT). He earned a bachelor’s degree from Hong Kong Polytechnic and a master’s degree from the University of Southampton in the U.K. He also completed post graduate work at the University of Warwick in the U.K.
Susan MallSusan Mall, Commissioner
2/2013 - 2017
Susan Mall was appointed to the Library Commission by Mayor Edwin Lee in February 2013. She is a development professional with a successful track record of providing leadership, strategic planning and event production for fund-raising, donor relations, and marketing. Recently she served as the grand opening consultant for the new SFJAZZ Center which opened in January 2013. She has also worked with the Jewish Community Federation, the Contemporary Jewish Museum, Jewish Vocational Services and Jewish Community Relations Council. She serves on the board of directors of the San Francisco Jewish Film Festival and the Alexander and June Maisin Foundation, and also serves on the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra Committee and the Koret Family House Advisory New Building Committee. She has a master’s degree from Loyola University in Chicago and a bachelor’s degree from Boston University.
Michael NguyenMichael Peter Nguyen, Commissioner
3/15/10 – 1/15/17
Michael Peter Nguyen was appointed to the Commission by Mayor Gavin Newsom in March 2010. He is a rising performing artist as a singer, pianist, dancer, and choreographer. He received formal training in music and dance from distinguished performing arts institutions such as The Walden School, the European American Musical Alliance in Paris, France, The San Francisco Conservatory of Dance, The New York University Tisch School of the Arts, the Bates Dance Festival, and the Albany Park Theater Project. He graduated from Swarthmore College in 2008 with degrees in Sociology, Anthropology and Dance.
Teresa OnoTeresa Ono, Commissioner
5/21/09 – 1/15/17
Teresa Ono was appointed to the Commission by Mayor Gavin Newsom in May 2009. She currently serves as Advancement Services Manager at San Francisco State University. She has been Director of Development at the Japanese Cultural & Community Center of Northern California where she raised over $370,000. In 2005, as Executive Director she raised over $300,000 to support 24 events of the Celebration of the 100th Anniversary of Japantown. Previously she worked for AT&T, rising to Director of Law and Government Affairs. She has a strong community background serving as Vice President and Treasurer of the Golden Gate chapter of the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL). She serves on the Executive Committee of the Cherry Blossom Festival as well as Past Chairperson of the Senior Appreciation Brunch and current member of the planning committee.
Lorna RandlettLorna Randlett, Commissioner
1/8/11 – 1/15/14
Lorna Randlett was appointed to the Commission in January 2011 by Mayor Gavin Newsom. She is an external relations manager for McKinsey & Company, a worldwide management consulting firm. Her portfolio includes research and relevance for state and local reform and innovation, infrastructure for the Americas and the global semiconductor practice. Previously she was the Director of the Office of Public Engagement at San Francisco Unified School District. She has a B.S. from the University of California, Santa Cruz.
Luis HerreraLuis Herrera, City Librarian
Sue BlackmanSue Blackman, Library Commission Secretary/Custodian of Records

Mailing Address:

San Francisco Public Library
Secretary, Library Commission
100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-4989

Telephone: (415) 557-4233
Fax: (415) 557-4239

Take our survey