First Second Books:

A Graphic Revolution
Event detail
 

The Cartoon Art Museum is proud to show its latest exhibition, First Second Books: A Graphic Revolution.  This historic exhibition features original artwork from Bay Area creators whose graphic novels have been published by First Second, with subject matter ranging from heartfelt autobiography to magical realism.  Featured creators include Lisa Brown, Nidhi Chanani, Sean Chiki, Kiara Brinkman, Ian Lendler, Thien Pham, Jason Shiga, Amir Soltani, Khalil Bendib, Rosemary Valero-O’Connell and Gene Luen Yang.  Sponsored by the Cartoon Art Museum, First Second Books and Friends of the San Francisco Public Library.

Opening Event – Meet the Curators, Andrew Farago and Mark Siegel:  Sunday, November 19, 1:00 PM, Main Library, Koret Auditorium. 

Saturday, January 6: Ausora: Cartooning and Graphic Novel Workshop for teens with Aaron Southland for Ausora. Main Library, Mix.

Tuesday, February 6, 6:30, First Second Books: A Graphic Revolution, meet Lisa Brown, Nidhi Chanani, Thien Pham, Jason Shiga and Mariko Tamaki in conversation with Cartoon Art Museum curator Andrew Farago.  Main Library, Latino Hispanic Community Room.

Upcoming Events

Welcome to SFMOMA!
Monday, April 23, 2018, 12:30 pm
Welcome to SFMOMA!
Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 12:30 pm
Art Talk: Cult of the Machine
Wednesday, April 25, 2018, 6:30 pm
Ortega, Ortega Meeting Room

More related events

Upcoming Classes

Art Salon with Oscar Zhang
Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 4:00 pm
Chinatown, Chinatown Meeting Room
Artivism (Art + Activism): Turning Passions into Actions
Thursday, May 17, 2018, 4:00 pm
Sunset, Sunset Children's Area

Current Exhibits

The Amazing Handkerchief
Through Thursday, May 17, 2018
Main Library, Art, Music & Recreation Center
Degenderettes Antifa Art
Through Thursday, July 19, 2018
Main Library, LGBTQIA Center Exhibit Space
Christopher Felver
Through Sunday, June 24, 2018
Main Library, Jewett Gallery
Take our survey