First Second Books:

A Graphic Revolution
Event detail
 

The Cartoon Art Museum is proud to show its latest exhibition, First Second Books: A Graphic Revolution.  This historic exhibition features original artwork from Bay Area creators whose graphic novels have been published by First Second, with subject matter ranging from heartfelt autobiography to magical realism.  Featured creators include Lisa Brown, Nidhi Chanani, Sean Chiki, Kiara Brinkman, Ian Lendler, Thien Pham, Jason Shiga, Amir Soltani, Khalil Bendib, Rosemary Valero-O’Connell and Gene Luen Yang.  Sponsored by the Cartoon Art Museum, First Second Books and Friends of the San Francisco Public Library.

Opening Event – Meet the Curators, Andrew Farago and Mark Siegel:  Sunday, November 19, 1:00 PM, Main Library, Koret Auditorium. 

Saturday, January 6: Ausora: Cartooning and Graphic Novel Workshop for teens with Aaron Southland for Ausora. Main Library, Mix.

Tuesday, February 6, 6:30, First Second Books: A Graphic Revolution, meet Lisa Brown, Nidhi Chanani, Thien Pham, Jason Shiga and Mariko Tamaki in conversation with Cartoon Art Museum curator Andrew Farago.  Main Library, Latino Hispanic Community Room.

Upcoming Events

Lunar New Year: The Traditions and Symbolism
Wednesday, January 24, 2018, 6:30 pm
North Beach, North Beach Meeting Room
The Making of Mapping
Thursday, January 25, 2018, 6:00 pm
Teotihuacan: City of Water, City of Fire with the de Young Museum
Saturday, January 27, 2018, 2:00 pm
Main Library, Children's General Floor Area - 2nd Fl

More related events

Upcoming Classes

Freezer Paper Stencils
Saturday, February 10, 2018, 2:00 pm
North Beach, North Beach General Floor Area
Mission Digital Photography Group
Wednesday, February 14, 2018, 6:30 pm
Mission, Mission General Floor Area

Current Exhibits

Asian Brush Painting Sumi-e
Through Wednesday, February 28, 2018
West Portal, West Portal General Floor Area
We’re Just People
Through Thursday, February 1, 2018
Main Library, LGBTQIA Center Exhibit Space
If Superpowers Could Save My Community
Through Thursday, April 5, 2018
Main Library, African American Center
Take our survey