San Francisco Genealogy Group

Join the Discussion at our Monthly Meetings
Event detail
Add to my calendar
 

Interested in finding your San Francisco ancestors (pre- and post-1906)? Looking for Gold Rush pioneers or researching family homes? Whether you’re just beginning or have been searching for years, join the conversation with us at monthly meetings led by a genealogist from the California Genealogical Society as we uncover vital records, view historical photographs and maps, examine old newspapers and manuscripts, and learn how to use online resources. Our core research guide is Nancy Peterson's Raking the Ashes: Genealogical Strategies for Pre-1906 San Francisco Research.

2018 Meeting Schedule:
Sat., July 14
Sat., Aug. 11
Sat., Sept. 8
Sat., Oct. 13
11am-1pm
3rd Floor Paley Room
Main Library

Bring your questions or your expertise and we can help each other. We may not find all of the answers, but we will pool our resources and learn together. There will also be presentations on specialized topics on some of the dates.

Learn more about History and Genealogy through the wealth of resources available at the Library.

Upcoming Events

Heart/Mind Meditation
Tuesday, July 23, 2019, 12:15 pm
Richmond, Richmond Meeting Room
Treasure Island Stop
Thursday, July 25, 2019, 1:00 pm
Home Preparedness in Earthquake Country
Thursday, July 25, 2019, 6:30 pm

More related events

Upcoming Classes

Excelsior Knitters
Wednesday, August 14, 2019, 6:30 pm
Excelsior, Excelsior Meeting Room
Beginning Genealogy (Class 3)
Tuesday, August 20, 2019, 1:30 pm
Main Library, Learning Studio

Current Exhibits

The Stuff of Life:
Through Thursday, September 26, 2019
Main Library, Skylight Gallery
Queer as German Folk
Through Thursday, September 26, 2019
Main Library, LGBTQIA Center Exhibit Space
Creating Resilience
Through Thursday, September 19, 2019
Main Library, General Collections
Take our survey