San Francisco Genealogy Group

Join the Discussion at our Monthly Meetings
Event detail
Add to my calendar
 

Interested in finding your San Francisco ancestors (pre- and post-1906)? Looking for Gold Rush pioneers or researching family homes? Whether you’re just beginning or have been searching for years, join the conversation with us at monthly meetings led by a genealogist from the California Genealogical Society as we uncover vital records, view historical photographs and maps, examine old newspapers and manuscripts, and learn how to use online resources. Our core research guide is Nancy Peterson's Raking the Ashes: Genealogical Strategies for Pre-1906 San Francisco Research.

2019 Meeting Schedule:
Sat., Jan. 12
Sat., Feb. 9
Sat., Mar. 9
Sat., Apr. 13
Sat., May 11
Sat. Jun. 8
Sat. Jul. 13
Sat. Aug. 10
Sat. Sep. 14
Sat. Oct. 12 (in Sycip Rm, 4th floor)

(no meeting in Nov. or Dec.)

11am-1pm
3rd Floor Paley Room
Main Library

Bring your questions or your expertise and we can help each other. We may not find all of the answers, but we will pool our resources and learn together. There will also be presentations on specialized topics on some of the dates.

Learn more about History and Genealogy through the wealth of resources available at the Library.

Upcoming Events

Heart/Mind Meditation
Tuesday, March 19, 2019, 12:15 pm
Richmond, Richmond Meeting Room
Bernal History Project Holding up the Sky!
Wednesday, March 20, 2019, 7:00 pm
Bernal Heights, Bernal Heights Meeting Room
Treasure Island Stop
Thursday, March 21, 2019, 1:00 pm

More related events

Upcoming Classes

Excelsior Knitters
Wednesday, April 10, 2019, 6:30 pm
Excelsior, Excelsior Meeting Room
Department of Police Accountability
Thursday, April 11, 2019, 5:30 pm
Golden Gate Valley, Golden Gate Valley Meeting Room
Seismic Safety Workshop
Friday, April 12, 2019, 2:00 pm
Chinatown, Chinatown Meeting Room

Current Exhibits

3D Model of West Portal Area on Display
Through Sunday, April 28, 2019
West Portal, West Portal General Floor Area
Illusion and the Magic City
Through Thursday, March 28, 2019
Main Library, San Francisco History Center
Take our survey