News Release - January 23, 2009

For Immediate Release: January 23, 2009

Contacts: Michelle Jeffers (415) 557-4282

Writers Remembered Honors Authors, Poets and Journalists who Passed Away in 2008

Annual Literary Tribute to take place at the Main Library Saturday, January 31

San Francisco, CA - Friends of the San Francisco Public Library and the San Francisco Public Library present the seventh annual Writers Remembered: A celebration of the authors, poets and journalists who died in 2008. Friends, colleagues and admirers gather together in the Koret Auditorium of the Main Library to honor and celebrate the creative minds that left us in the previous year. This unique event will take place on Saturday, January 31 from 1-4 p.m.

Among those to be remembered will be Alfred Arteaga, renowned poet and professor of Chicano and ethnic studies at UC-Berkeley; William F. Buckley Jr., author and founder of the political magazine, National Review; George Carlin, stand-up comedian who voiced the feelings of an indignant counterculture; Arthur C. Clarke, author of, 2001: A Space Odyssey, whose prophetic science fiction often foretold future scientific advancements; Mahmoud Darwish, poet who worked to forge a Palestinian national consciousness; Harold Pinter, Nobel Prize winning playwright who pointed out the ominous in the everyday; Studs Terkel, Pulitzer Prize-winning author who changed the landscape with his oral histories of ordinary Americans; Tony Vaughan, a San Francisco poet and painter engaged in the city's alternative culture for more than three decades; David Foster Wallace, acclaimed contemporary novelist, essayist , short story writer and MacArthur Foundation "genius"; and Donald Westlake, prolific, award-winning mystery novelist. Other writers will also be honored, a full list follows below.

Those who honor the writers will reminisce, revel or read from the works of those that have left us. Hosted by writer Gerry Nicosia, participants this year include: Tom Barbash, Barbara Berman, Kate Braverman, David Corbett, Sharon Doubiago, Agneta Falk, Daniel Handler (Lemony Snickett), Jack Hirschman, Carl Macki, Eddie Muller, Alejandro Murguia, Gerald Nachman, Peter Plate, Naomi Quinonez, Jason Roberts, Deema Shehabi, A.D. Winans and Al Young.

A free event that is open to the public, Writers Remembered is a remarkable and memorable celebration of the literary spirit.

Writers Remembered 2009

Alfredo Arteaga tribute by Naomi Quinonez

William F. Buckley tribute by Tom Barbash

George Carlin tribute by Gerald Nachman

Hayden Carruth tribute by Barbara Berman

Dave Church tribute by A. D. Winans

Arthur C. Clarke tribute by Kate Braverman

James Crumley tribute by Peter Plate

Mahmoud Darwish tribute by Deema Shehabi

Fr. Albert Huerta tribute by Carl Macki

Reginald Lockett tribute by Al Young

Ellen Miller tribute by Daniel Handler (Lemony Snicket)

Harold Pinter tribute by David Corbett

Raulsalinas tribute by Alejandro Murguia

Sheila Schwartz tribute by Tom Barbash

Studs Terkel tribute by Gerald Nicosia

John Trumbo tribute by Sharon Doubiago

Tony Vaughan tribute by Jack Hirschman/Agneta Falk

David Foster Wallace tribute by Jason Roberts

Donald Westlake tribute by Eddie Muller

Take our survey