Eminent Diverse Authors Recognized at American Book Awards Ceremony

For Immediate Release: 10/29/19
Media Contact: Jaime Wong
(415) 557-4295; Jaime.Wong@sfpl.org


Invitation to Cover

Eminent Diverse Authors Recognized at American Book Awards Ceremony

San Francisco Public Library Hosts Program at Main Library

WHAT: The Before Columbus Foundation recognizes the winners of the 40th Annual American Book Awards. The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community.

WHEN: 1 p.m.–4 p.m., Friday, November 1, 2019

WHERE: Koret Auditorium, Main Library, 100 Larkin St.

WHO: Notable authors May-Lee Chai (Useful Phrases for Immigrants: Stories), G. Willow Wilson and Nico Leon (Ms. Marvel Vol. 9: Teenage Wasteland), William T. Vollmann (Carbon Ideologies: Volume I, No Immediate Danger, Volume II, No Good Alternative) and Nathan Hare, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, among other winners of this year’s award

About San Francisco Public Library

San Francisco Public Library is dedicated to free and equal access to information, knowledge, independent learning and the joys of reading for our diverse community. The library system is made up of 27 neighborhood branches, the San Francisco Main Library at Civic Center and four bookmobiles.

October 29, 2019