Library Commission

The San Francisco Public Library Commission is a seven-member commission appointed by the Mayor of San Francisco. The Commission sets policy and is responsible for the library budget for the San Francisco Public Library system. Commissioners serve a four-year term.

Current Commissioners

Mary Wardell GhirarduzziDr. Mary Wardell Ghirarduzzi, President
6/19/14 – 1/15/18
Dr. Mary J. Wardell Ghiraduzzi was appointed by Mayor Edwin Lee in June 2014. She has been working in various roles in higher education administration for the past 18 years. She is currently the Vice Provost for Diversity Engagement and Community Outreach and is part of leadership at the University of San Francisco. Working with faculty, staff and students, and diverse communities throughout the San Francisco Bay area, she promotes an understanding of diversity as core to a holistic and sustainable higher education organization. She received a BA in Communication from the University of the Pacific in Stockton, California, her hometown; a MA in Cross Cultural Counseling from San Diego State University; and a doctorate in Organizational Leadership from Pepperdine University in Los Angeles.
Susan MallSusan Mall, Vice-President
2/2013 - 2/2021
Susan Mall was appointed to the Library Commission by Mayor Edwin Lee in February 2013. She is a development professional with a successful track record of providing leadership, strategic planning and event production for fund-raising, donor relations, and marketing. Recently she served as the grand opening consultant for the new SFJAZZ Center which opened in January 2013. She has also worked with the Jewish Community Federation, the Contemporary Jewish Museum, Jewish Vocational Services and Jewish Community Relations Council. She serves on the board of directors of the San Francisco Jewish Film Festival, the Nancy and Stephen Grand Family House, and the Alexander and June Maisin Foundation, and also serves on the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra Committee and the Koret Family House Advisory New Building Committee. She has a master’s degree from Loyola University in Chicago and a bachelor’s degree from Boston University.
Zoe DunningZoe Dunning, Commissioner
7/30/14 – 1/15/18
Zoe Dunning was appointed to the Commission by Mayor Ed Lee in July 2014. She currently serves as Director of Change Management for Future State consulting, helping her clients lead their organization and its stakeholders through large-scale operational transformation. A retired U.S. Navy officer, Commander Dunning was a leader in the successful campaign to repeal the military’s discriminatory Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell law. She is a Senior Fellow at the Truman National Security Project and serves on the board of Stanford Pride, a network of alumni, students, faculty, and staff connected to the LGBTQQI community. She holds an M.B.A. from Stanford University and a B.S. from the United States Naval Academy.
John LeeJohn Lee, Commissioner
2/2013 - 1/15/18
John Lee was appointed to the Library Commission by Mayor Edwin Lee in February 2013. He has worked in information technology for the past two decades and currently serves as an IT executive with the YMCA of San Francisco. Lee serves on the board of the Evergreen Education Foundation, which brings education opportunities to rural areas of China. He is active in MentorNet, which mentors university students. He is also a CPR and first aid instructor for the Red Cross and certified volunteer with San Francisco Neighborhood Emergency Response Team (SF NERT). He earned a bachelor’s degree from Hong Kong Polytechnic and a master’s degree from the University of Southampton in the U.K. He also completed post graduate work at the University of Warwick in the U.K.
Teresa OnoTeresa Ono, Commissioner
5/21/09 – 2/15/21
Teresa Ono was appointed to the Commission by Mayor Gavin Newsom in May 2009. She currently serves as Cultural Heritage Fund Manager at the Japanese Cultural and Community Center of Northern California (JCCCNC).  She was the Director of Special Events and Advancement Services Manager at San Francisco State University ending in 2014. She had been Director of Development at the JCCCNC and in 2005, as Executive Director she raised over $300,000 to support 24 events of the Celebration of the 100th Anniversary of Japantown. Previously she worked for AT&T, rising to Director of Law and Government Affairs. She has a strong community background serving as Vice President and Treasurer of the Golden Gate chapter of the Japanese American Citizens League (JACL) and President of the Buddhist Church of San Francisco. She served on the Executive Committee of the Cherry Blossom Festival as well as Past Chairperson of the Senior Appreciation Brunch and is a current member of the planning committee.
Luis HerreraLuis Herrera, City Librarian
Sue BlackmanSue Blackman, Library Commission Secretary/Custodian of Records

Mailing Address:

San Francisco Public Library
Secretary, Library Commission
100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-4989

Telephone: (415) 557-4233
Fax: (415) 557-4239

Take our survey