Sfiato Wind Quintet

Event detail
Add to my calendar
Sfiato means to breathe or exhale in Italian. For their third SFPL performance, Sfiato will play pieces for wind quintet composed by masters including Ravel, Ligeti, Klughardt, Schuller, and more. In between sets, the quintet will host an audience Q&A session. Come enjoy free classical music in the Library! Seating begins at 1:30

The group consists of:
Catherine Jennings, flute
Audrey Gore, oboe
Leah di Tullio, clarinet
Jeremiah Broom, bassoon
Ryan Timmons, French horn

Musical Program
Maurice Ravel: 'Le Tombeau de Couperin'; First and second movements: 'Prelude' and 'Fugue'

Gyorgy Ligeti: Six Bagatelles for woodwind quintet: 1 Allegro con spirit, 2 Rubato Lamentoso, 3 Allegro Grazioso, 4 Presto Ruvido, 5 Adagio Mesto, Bela Bartok in memoriam, 6 Molto vivace, cappriccioso

Questions and Answers with Sfiato Wind Quintet

Second Set

Gunther Schulller: Suite in 3 mvmnts: 1 Prelude, 2 Blues. 3 Toccata

August Klughardt: Quintet for woodwinds, opus 79, 1 Allegro non troppo, 2 Allegro vivace, 3 Andante grazioso, 4 Adagio, allegro molto vivace

Maurice Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin, mvmnt 4, Rigaudon

Take our survey